Centre for Reimagining Innovation and Science Policy (CRISP)

Furthering over two decades of Centre for Civil Society’s commitment to advance social change through public policy, CRISP has been conceptualised as a non-profit institution of excellence dedicated to advancing policy solutions that foster scientific enquiry and research and facilitate the creation and dissemination of new scientific knowledge.

CRISP is backed by Varun Aggarwal, a successful entrepreneur and researcher. Varun is passionate about building science for India and wrote a book on the science ecosystem of India. He believes that India needs to be a pioneer in scientific research to have sustainable social and economic progress. He recently founded India Science Fest, as an initiative to build the ecosystem.


Vijay Chandru, Professor

Vijay Chandru
Professor Vijay Chandru (Ph.D., MIT) is a computer scientist and a healthcare entrepreneur. Recognized as a Technology Pioneer by the World Economic Forum, he has served on the WEF’s Industry Agenda Council on the Future of the Health Sector. He is the co-founder of Strand Life Sciences, India’s leading precision medicine solutions company. Strand Life Sciences now has close to 20 diagnostic laboratories and over 400 employees spread across India. In 2001, he also co-founded PicoPeta Simputers which designed and manufactured India’s first handheld computers. More recently, he has co-founded Vizara Technologies and Yantri Labs in the technology space. He has also been involved in a number of social ventures in healthcare – particularly in the diagnosis, treatment and care coordination of patients with genetic disorders and has launched early awareness campaigns for orphan diseases in the country He is also co-founder of OPFORD Foundation, a non-profit in India with an open platform for orphan diseases. Dr Chandru’s latest article ‘From Digital to Living Machines: Convergence of Technologies’ was used as a theme paper for the Bengaluru tech Summit 2020. Read more

Dr. Swaminathan Sivaram, Professor

Dr. Swaminatha Sivaram
Dr. Sivaram, a distinguished alumnus of IIT-Kanpur (MSc) earned his PhD in Chemistry and DSc (h.c) from Purdue University, USA and was a postdoctoral fellow at the Institute of Polymer Science, The University of Akron, Akron, Ohio. Currently, he is an Honorary Professor and INSA Senior Scientist of the Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune. He has authored over 245 papers in peer-reviewed journals and has over 100 patents to his credit. He has supervised the Ph.D thesis of forty students and mentored over fifteen postdoctoral fellows in a career in scientific research spanning fifty years. Dr. Sivaram is a recipient of several awards and honors. He received the Gold Medal of the Chemical Research Society of India (2018) for his life-time contributions to chemistry and the International Award in Polymer Science bestowed by the Japan Society of Polymer Science (2017). He is an elected fellow of all the learned academies of sciences and engineering in India and The World Academy of Sciences, Trieste, Italy. He was conferred Padma Shri by the President of India in 2006.

Thomas Barlow, Adviser

Iris Madeira
Thomas Barlow serves as a distinguished adviser on knowledge investment, research policy, and analytics to a range of technology-intensive companies, government agencies, and universities globally. He is the author of three books on science and innovation, and publisher of the Barlow Report, a biennial resource for higher education institutions in Australia and East Asia. He has also been the science policy adviser to the Minister for Education, Science and Training in the Australian Government. Educated at Oxford University (MA, DPhil) and at the University of Sydney (BSc, Hons I with University Medal) he has been the Janssen Fellow in Biomedical Science at Balliol College, Oxford, and a Visiting Fellow in the Department of Chemistry at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in the USA.

Samir K. Brahmachari, Professor

Samir K. Brahmachari
Professor Samir K. Brahmachari completed his Ph.D. in Molecular Biophysics from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.He served as the Director General of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), which is the largest publicly funded organization involved in scientific and industrial research with 37 constitutional laboratories across India. He is the pioneer of genome analysis using computational tools alongside making major contributions in the area of miRNA mediated regulation of host- pathogen interactions and cellular regulation. The Open Source Drug Discovery platform, with its unprecedented scale of participation by students and professionals, under the innovative directions provided by Professor Brahmachari, not only accelerates drug discovery, but also holds a promise of tremendous and disruptive impact on the economics of drug development for neglected tropical diseases like TB. Professor Brahmachari has more than 12 patents, 23 copyrights and over 155 research publications to his credit. He is the recipient of a large number of National and International awards, including the prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award (1990) and is an elected member of all four academies of science and engineering in India.

Sanjay Sarma, Professor

Sanjay Sarma
Sanjay Sarma is the Fred Fort Flowers (1941) and Daniel Fort Flowers (1941) Professor of Mechanical Engineering at MIT. He is the Vice President Open Learning at MIT. He co-founded the Auto-ID Center at MIT and developed many of the key technologies behind the EPC suite of RFID standards now used worldwide. He was also the founder and CTO of OATSystems, which was acquired by Checkpoint Systems (NYSE: CKP) in 2008. He serves on the boards of edX, GS1, EPCglobal and Hochschild Mining (HOC:LSE). Dr. Sarma received his Bachelors from the Indian Institute of Technology, his Masters from Carnegie Mellon University and his Ph.D from the University of California at Berkeley. He has authored over 150 academic papers in computational geometry, sensing, RFID, automation and CAD, and is the recipient of numerous awards for teaching and research including the MacVicar Fellowship, the Business Week eBiz Award and Informationweek's Innovators and Influencers Award. He advises several national governments and global companies.

Positions Open at CRISP:

We are looking for a full-time Director for CRISP to join our team in an exciting time of organisational growth and development. If you or anyone you know is looking for a vibrant opportunity, we would love to hear from you!

Apply Here!