Apply for Researching Reality Internship 2018

Speaker's Profile

Pinky Anand

Pinky Anand is a senior advocate at Supreme Court, India and additional Solicitor General of India. She graduated from Lady Shri Ram College for Women and received her LLB degree from Faculty of Law, University of Delhi. She further received a Master of Law degree from Harvard University.

She was the head of All-India Legal Cell at BJP and is a former Additional Advocate-General for the State of Uttarakhand. She has won many revoluntionary cases and made a mark in the industry. She was the Chairperson, National Committee Law, ASSOCHAM Ladies League. She was also the Vice President of Bar Association of India. Ms. Anand has received several awards for excellence in law including FICCI and Bharat Nirman, Women Achiever.

Colin Gonsalves

Colin Gonsalves is a designated Senior Advocate of the Supreme Court of India and the founder of Human Rights Law Network(HRLN). He specializes in human rights protection, labour law and is also a pioneer in the field of public interest litigation in India. He has been awarded by various institutions for his exemplary contribution to the area of human Rights, some of his major awards include Right Livelihood Award for the year 2017 and 2004 International Human Rights Award of the American Bar Association. He also co-developed the Indian People's Tribunal (IPT).

Colin Gonsalves has written, edited and co-edited numerous articles and books on a range of human rights law issues. He was also presented with the award of Doctor of the University, honoris causa, by the University of Middlesex, UK. and has been bestowed with the Honour for "Pioneering and Exemplary Leadership in Advancing Women's Reproductive Rights and Social Justice in India" by the Centre for Reproductive Rights.

Tariq Anwar

Tariq Anwar is an Indian politician as member of the Indian National Congress. He is former Union Minister of State of Agriculture and Food Processing Industries.

He has been a member of the Indian Parliament for more than three decades – elected five times to the Lok Sabha, from Katihar, and two times to the Rajya Sabha, from Maharashtra. He quit the INC over a presidency dispute of the party in 1999 and formed the Nationalist Congress Party, eventually he re-joinied the INC in 2018.

P.K Malhotra

P.K Malhotra has more than forty years experience in the field of law in various capacities out of which, he has worked in the Ministry of Law & Justice for more than 25 years as an officer of Indian Legal Service and reached the Apex level of Union Law Secretary. He was responsible for processing and finalizing many important legislations. Over the years he, held several key positions such as Secretary-Ministry of Law and Justice, Member, Law Commission of India (Ex-Officio) Presiding Officer and Member, Securities Appellate Tribunal, Chairman, Adjudicating Authority, Prevention of Money Laundering- (Addl. Charge).

He also headed Indian Delegation to Vienna and New York to participate in the meeting of UNCITRAL and has represented India at various foreign platforms. He is a recipient of Gold Medal by Delhi University for securing highest marks in the Diploma in International Law Examination of the University.

Maneesh Chhibber

Maneesh Chhibber is a senior Editor DNA. In past, he has been Legal Editor Indian Express, and Legal Correspondence at the Tribune. Mr. Chhibber has also worked with the Times Group. He also serves as secretary media advisory committee, Rajya Sabha, for the year 2017-18.

Satya Prakash

Satya Prakash is legal editor with The Tribune also worked with Hindustan Times. He is a visiting faculty at many leading institutions like IIMC, New Delhi, SLS NOIDA. Besides that, he has been appearing as legal expert at various media channels including All India Radio. He has also been awarded with various awards including National Bar Award, and Shankar Dayal Singh Trophy.

Parth J. Shah

Parth J. Shah is founder president of the Centre for Civil Society. He taught economics at the University of Michigan before returning to India to start CCS. He has published academic articles in the areas of development economics, welfare economics, business-cycle theory, free or laissez-faire banking, and currency-board systems. He has edited Morality of Markets, Friedman on India, Profiles in Courage: Dissent on Indian Socialism, Do Corporations have Social Responsibility?, and co-edited Law, Liberty, and Livelihood, The Terracotta Reader, and Agenda for Change. He often writes in newspapers and magazines.

Hemant K. Batra

Hemant K. Batra is an Indian business and commercial lawyer. He is the founder and chairman of Kaden Boriss Global. He holds a position as the Secretary General of SAARCLAW (South Asian Association for Regional Co-operation in Law). He is also the chairperson of the Organizing Council of International Infrastructure & Construction Law Arbitration Moot (IICLAM). nd member of the advisory board of the Organisation for International Cooperation (OIC) based in New Jersey, US. IICLAM is a joint initiative of Kaden Boriss. He is a recipient of the Mahatma Gandhi Seva Medal.

Considered as one of the prominent authorities on cross-border issues connected with legal profession, he was invited by the Harvard Law School to share his thoughts with senior students on the Future Market for Corporate Legal Services in India.

Neeti Shikha

Neeti Shikha is an Associate Professor at Symbiosis Law School, Noida, Member, Joint Steering Committee formed by IICC, Ministry of Corporate Affairs and SIPI for constituting Insolvency academic forum in India and National Coordinator for project Repeal of Laws, Centre for Civil Society. She also serves as an honorary advisor, public policy to the Alexis Foundation, India. She is the youngest member to serve on the board of Goeman Bindt HTO, a private non-profit international legal and policy advisory and research think-tank. Neeti is also recipient of prestigious The Hague Academy Scholarship and has published in leading law journals along with 2 books. She has spoken in several national and international conferences.