Liberalism in India: Past, Present and Future: Program Flow

Time Session / Topics / Speaker
09:00am – 09:30am Registration and Tea
09:30am – 09:50am Introduction and Welcome
Luis Miranda, Chairman of Board, Centre for Civil Society
Ronald Meinardus
, Friedrich Naumann Foundation
09:50am – 10:30am Tribute to SV Raju

[09:50am - 10:00am] A Tribute by Vivek Raju
[10:00am – 10:15am] Address by Mr Shashi Tharoor
[10:15am – 10:30am] Last Man Standing | Author: Seetha

10:30am – 01:00pm

Panel 1 | Chair: Amir Ullah Khan

Towards a Liberal India: Rethinking Reservations
Author: Surjit Bhalla | Discussant: Geeta Gouri

Religious and cultural freedom in India: Both too little and too much
Author: R Jagannathan | Discussant: Sadanand Dhume

Welfare State vs Welfare Society: Rights, Entitlements & Empathy
Author: Parth J Shah | Discussant: Arvind Virmani

01:00pm - 02:00pm Lunch
02:00pm - 04:00pm

Panel 2 | Chair: M R Madhavan

Democracy – Locus of Authority and Accountability
Author: J P Narayan | Discussant: Subir Gokarn

Liberalism for Whom?
Author: Barun Mitra | Discussant: Gurcharan Das

04:00pm - 04:30pm Break
04:30pm - 06:30pm

Panel 3 | Chair: Arghya Sengupta

Liberty & Security in Radically Networked Societies: A Challenge for Every Generation
Author: Nitin Pai | Discussant: Sushant Singh

Why Liberal Parties Fail?
Author: Jaithirth Rao | Discussant: Swaminathan Aiyar

06:30pm - 06:45pm Vote of Thanks